Uncategorized

Finding a Niche

“Those who follow the crowd usually get lost in it. I don’t know all the keys to success, but one key to failure is to try to please everyone.”   -Rick Warren

 I’m really getting into this, guys! Maybe because right now I am using it as a glorified diary. That isn’t what I intend it to be, at least not forever, but it is helping me get off the ground. If you read my last entry about fear, then you know I started this blog partly to function as training wheels for my writing. I spent too long thinking about writing, not enough time actually doing the writing, and had worked myself into a good (un)healthy fear of trying. I’ll let you in on a secret. This isn’t my first time. At one point my husband bought me a domain, I had a nifty website, and for a short time I blogged. Like most of my pet projects, I was super stoked for a little while, and then I wandered away. I guess at some point the hubs stopped paying for my hosting and now maybe mayasmind is floating about in the internet ether. So, here I am again, fumbling my way around WordPress.

How does this relate to the quote I started this post with? I need to find my niche. I am a mom. Is this a mommy blog? I don’t quite think so, but so much of my experience in life is tied to raising my own small army. Is this a blog about writing? I would like that to be an aspect of it, yes, but I’m not a professional and there are people out there who are doing that much better than I can. My last blog site was entirely based on my twisted sense of humor and unconventional parenting style. It got to the point that I felt so much pressure to be funny all the time, I didn’t feel like I could post anything that defied that expectation. I have some pretty helpful (I think) ideas about things that other parents might find useful, but I don’t want to make this a series of lists, either. Just to really mix it up, I like to illustrate comics about some of my misadventures as a housewife/mom/student, and I would love to eventually share some of those here, as well. Is that too much?

How did you find your niche? How did you decide on a theme? Did you pare it down and decide to be consistent with your posts, or did you let the wind take you and just post whatever you felt like talking about? Is it possible to be successful in the blogosphere if you don’t have a focus? Maybe I will go the other direction and really squeeze myself into my own little niche. I’ll be the “Mom/student/aspiring writer who is also sometimes funny and can make lists of low-cost family activities Blogger.” One lesson I have learned in life is that trying to please everyone is only going to lead to disappointment. When I do the things that are right for me, when I am being authentic, people seem to relate to that on a deeper level. What do you look for in a blog?

2 thoughts on “Finding a Niche

Leave a Reply

